Versión en Español

The Cordillera Huayhuash reserved area

Overall Objective: The conservation of the high mountain ecosystems and the exceptional scenic features of the Huayhuash mountain range.

Mitucocha lake Cordillera Huayhuash Peru

Date of foundation: December 24, 2002

Location: Comunities: Llámac, Pacllón (Region Ancash), Queropalca, Jesús, Tupac Amaru (Region Huanuco), Uramaza and Huayllapa (Region Lima)

Area: 67 589.76 hectares

Elevation: From 3650 to over 6000m (The highest peak is Yerupajá 6634 m.)

Climate: Precipitation and temperature vary in accordance to altitude; the average temperature is between 9ºC – 0ºC.

Biodiversity: According to the studies made by Roberto Arevalo of The Mountain Institute, there have been 272 species of plants, grouped into 148 genera, and 55 families identified in the Cordillera Huayhuash. There are 61 species of birds, 14 mammals, 2 amphibians and 2 fish. Ten of the bird species have been identified as being threatened by extinction. Some examples of the local fauna are: Weasels (Mustela Frenata), whose name in the Quechua language is “Huayhuash”, which is the source of the name of the mountain range, Condors (Vultur griphus), Vizcachas (Lagidium peruvianum), Wachuas (Berniola melanoptera ), the Shirish (Oreotrochilus estella), and Andean Foxes (Dusicyion culpaeus). The local flora includes: Totora reeds (Scirpus riparius), Ichu grass (Stipa festua sp.), Quenual trees (Polilepys weberbaueri), Escorzonera (Homoiantus multiflora), and Huamanripa (Senecio tephrosioides).